In order to accomplish its goals, the ECNL’s primary mechanisms for “Improving the Daily Environment" are:

  1. Competition
  2. Development
  3. Player Identification


Competition Summary
The ECNL is the elite competitive league for youth female soccer players in the United States. In the 2010-11 season, the ECNL will consist of 52 of the top female youth soccer clubs throughout the United States competing in two 26-team flights - Challenge A and Challenge B. Each U-15 through U-17 team  will play 13 regular-season games and three postseason games, and each U-18 team will play 10 regular-season games. Each U-15 through U-17 ECNL team will play regular-season games at three ECNL events, selected from five regular-season ECNL events: (i) the ECNL Fall National Showcase in August in Temecula, Calif.; (ii) the ECNL Final Four Showcase in December in Raleigh, N.C.; (iii) the ECNL Regular-Season Event #3 in December in Sanford, Fla.; (iv) the ECNL Regular-Season Event #4 in March in San Antonio, Texas; and (v) the PDA College Showcase in May in Zarephath, N.J. Teams in the U-18 age group will play in two of the first four regular-season events.
Following the conclusion of the regular-season, the ECNL will host the ECNL National Championships July 14-16, 2011, at a location to be determined. At the ECNL National Championships, every U-15 through U-17 ECNL team and the top eight U-18 teams will compete in three post-season playoff games to determine final standings in each division at each age group. Teams will participate in one of four groups: the Championship Group (the top eight teams at each of the U-15 through U-18 age groups), the Promotion/Relegation Group (teams that finished third and fourth in Challenge B and 23rd and 24th in Challenge A in the U-15 through U-17 age groups), the Challenge A Field (all other Challenge A teams in the U-15 through U-17 age groups) and the Challenege B Field (all other Challenge B teams in the U-15 through U-17 age groups).
At the conclusion of the ECNL National Championships, individual age group ECNL National Champions will be crowned and an overall ECNL Club National Champion will be crowned. In addition to the two teams from Challenge B that will automatically be promoted to Challenge A and the two teams from Challenge A that will automatically be relegated to Challenge B in the U-15 through U-17 age groups at the end of the regular season, the Promotion/Relegation Group will determine the final two spots in each Challenge for the following season.

[2010-11 ECNL Flight Assignments]

Player Identification Program Summary
In 2010-11, the ECNL Player ID Program will be organized in conjunction with US Club Soccer’s id2 player identification and development program. ECNL coaches and staff will work closely with id2 staff to identify elite female players in the 1996 and 1997 birth years for participation in one of three id2 National Camps. In addition, players in the 1994 and 1995 birth years will be scouted in ECNL competition for invitations to a special ECNL / id2 National Camp in early 2011. The ECNL will cover all costs of participation (except travel) for ECNL players identified in the 1994-95 age group for this camp.